(No ratings yet)

ISBN-10 0062456709
ISBN-13 9780062456700
Publication Date 2018-01-23 00:00:00

This book has been found by 1 other people


Related Textbooks


Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird

Bethany Hegedus

Vendor Condition Stock Price Binding Availability
Vendor Type Number Of Pages Price View Availability
Vendor Type Number Of Pages Price View Availability
Sell my copy of this book to Amazon and get this much trade in value
Rent a copy of this book from Amazon
This book is primarily used in: (0 votes)

Nobody else has voted, be the first!

Product Description

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent.

Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.

Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words.

This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn’t give up—not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.

Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle’s novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it.

Amazon Reviews