(No ratings yet)

ISBN-10 B07CXWV6KZ
ISBN-13 978B07CXWV6K5
Publication Date 2018-08-03 00:00:00

This book has been found by 1 other people


Related Textbooks


Telegrams and Teacakes: A heartbreaking World War Two family saga (Wartime Bakery)

Amy Miller

Vendor Condition Stock Price Binding Availability
Amazon New 10 $9.99 Paperback Available
Vendor Condition Stock Price Binding Availability
Amazon Used 7 $14.03 Paperback Available
Sell my copy of this book to Amazon and get this much trade in value
Rent a copy of this book from Amazon
This book is primarily used in: (0 votes)

Nobody else has voted, be the first!

Product Description

‘There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies: a sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.’

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl…

At the Barton Bakery, Betty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton, but Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

Audrey’s stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much, a man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams…

As Winston Churchill tells the country to ‘never give in’, the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry.

What readers are saying about Telegrams and Teacakes:
I couldn't stop grinning… a truly wonderful story that totally enveloped me. With so many lovely characters, they really do capture your heart making this an emotional rollercoaster of a read. An endearing read that can be read and enjoyed, again and again.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

A beautiful, beautiful story. Based during the war it tells the story of a family, friends and neighbours of a bakery and how they strive to overcome hardships. Lots of tears and laughter. Highly recommend it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Absolutely loved this book. I'm a huge fan of wartime sagas with believable characters and this definitely ticked that box. It was a realistic and fascinating glimpse into the past and I was gripped from page one. Couldn't wait to get to the end and see how things unfolded.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘The writing instantly transports you back… an emotional rollercoaster of a story – sadness and tears over what they had to suffer but also a heart-warming story of family and friendships. Highly recommended.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

Absolutely marvellous my emotions were ripped apart as I was left in tears more than once… truly engaging, filled me with warmth’ Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

Beautifully written, heartfelt and also feel-good… I love reading stories like this… It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘There was a real sense of pulling together and hope. Amy has managed to get the right blend of humour and heartache… a must for any reader.’ Jen Med’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

What readers are saying about Amy Miller:
‘You will love this … An absolutely brilliant family saga and one which I can highly recommend. A perfect read for these colder nights curled up with a nice cup of tea!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I couldn't put this book down and it kept me hooked until the very last page.' Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

Genuinely heartwarming… I loved everything… I cannot recommend this book to you enough - I thought it was superb!!Donnas Book Blog, 5 stars

'I absolutely loved it... a wonderful story of love, romance, family, friendship, secrets, charity and a tasty bakery.' Little Miss No Sleep

Amazon Reviews